Wednesday, June 15, 2011

Waltrip named to Nascar Hall of Fame

From Fox Sports -


Racing Legend Darrell Waltrip Named To 2012 NASCAR Hall Of Fame Class

FOX Sports & SPEED Broadcaster Reaches Career Milestone

New York, NY
– Darrell Waltrip, a three-time NASCAR champion and lead TV analyst for NASCAR on FOX & SPEED, can now add another title to his name: NASCAR Hall of Famer. It was revealed today by NASCAR at Charlotte’s Convention Center that Waltrip enters as a proud member of the 2012 NASCAR Hall of Fame’s third class.

Long before flourishing in his current role as the cornerstone of NASCAR on FOX’s broadcast team, Waltrip became one of the sport’s most legendary drivers. Upon retirement in 2000, Waltrip recorded 84 career wins (tied for third all-time) and was Winston Cup Champion in 1981, 1982 and 1985. Waltrip’s most memorable victory was the 1989 Daytona 500, his sole career win at the Great American Race.

“My whole career, I've always thought it was cool that other big league sports would refer to their guys as ‘Hall of Famers,’” said Waltrip from the Hall of Fame ceremony held today in Charlotte, NC. “I hoped that one day someone would refer to me that way. This is the greatest honor a driver can receive. It means you must have been pretty good at what you do. I am humbled and excited that my name, Darrell Waltrip, now sits among the sports best and brightest.”

Inductees were determined by a 55-member voting Committee consisting of officials from NASCAR and the NASCAR Hall of Fame, NASCAR media members, plus owners and operators of major speedways and historic short tracks.

Waltrip twice copped the Most Popular Driver Award (1989-90) and was the proud recipient of the prestigious Bill France Award of Excellence in 2000, honoring his lifetime of achievements on the race track. In 2003, Waltrip was elected into the National Motorsports Hall of Fame, an honor followed by an induction into the International Motorsports Hall of Fame in 2005. Through his 29 year racing career, Waltrip captured 59 Cup poles (fourth all-time) and remains the only five-time winner of the Coca-Cola 600 (1978-79, 1985, 1988-89).

No comments: